mr-onion's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Generous vs. Un-Generous

Generous vs. Un-Generous People

A writer that I really admire slammed "my type" for putting down something innocuous and funny ("100 Facts About the Author"). Apparently everyone on Diaryland is a self indulgent narcissist for wanting to type out their FAQ's on their own personal webpage. I personally love reading other people's 100 Facts pages as it's a shorthand guide to what the person is all about without going into too much onerous detail.

He says "as if anybody out there cares"

There are a lot of very generous people out there in Diaryland that have sent me encouraging e-mails and notes and to them a massive CHEERS! and also a huge hug

*come here*

*closer!*

*closer!*

OK I'll take a rain check on that hug then.

I don't labour under the illusion of having dozens of readers because this is my goddamn diary and it's okay to get emotional in a diary without having to worry about what countless strangers think of your life - there are even some men out there putting out honest, heartfelt diaries, some of them even Canadian men and I applaud you.

Men with feelings. Who knew?

There are even men here who read Kahlil Gibran , now that's sensitive!

Now where was I going with this post....hmmm.....these are yesterdaythoughts so they have to be dug up from the recesses of my mind....hidden somewhere behind my latent thoughts of donuts....wondering if my trousers are too tight...thinking of my Thursday morning meeting with a bunch of pensioners....dreaming of Halloween candy...oooh yes now I remember.

I will have to finish this later as Satan just entered the office...

....much later

I started thinking about this when I went to Jenna's for dinner on Monday night and met her friend, Marla. Marla was showing us a guided creativity journal written by some curly-headed woman called Sark and inside my head the conversation went something like this:

*she's so average. why would anyone need guidance to be creative?*

As the night wore on over many bottles of wine, Marla showed us the page in her journal about her friend who was paralyzed in an accident, waxing lyrical about his bravery and how much she respects him for going through a year of hospitalization without ever feeling sorry for himself. She then went on about how lovely our hostess was and how she shouldn't feel the need to change herself for any man....and I started to feel like an utter heel for having those judgemental thoughts about a total stranger.

Culture vulture that I am, my brain automatically jumps to the conclusion that people must have the same likes/dislikes as me in order to be a nice person.

Marla is a prime example of a generous person. She was completely sweet and didn't jump to conclusions about what kind of a person I am (an ass - to be honest) even though we have very little in common.

Generous people don't pigeonhole strangers based on scant evidence (like Mister List-Hater from the beginning of this rant).

11:57am - 2004-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

asper-gen
bluenadia6
stayinschool
unapologetic
sirawesome
bingoguy
chickpea981
fadein
mr-sparkles
antistar-
uberfrau
uptowndream
xanthium
coppersky
djjohns3
heckafresh
caraxus
von-esper
getbent-die