mr-onion's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

unrelated rumblings

On Friday night I conducted an informal survey, related to my last entry. I'm hoping to have all 122 of the scribbled answers deciphered by tonight after work. OK, tell a lie, The General started numbering the entries at #69 so technically there are 53 opinions expressed on my latest survey of friends and random strangers (named "The Rules of Attraction").

Something very Sex & The City happened while I was gathering information on Friday night though - this is a recurring phenomenon that always slightly shocks me.

Belle has started dating a new man, an acquaintance of mine. The new boyfriend introduced us to some of his friends, and while the happy new couple was busy rubbing noses I thought I'd be snoopy (not the Peanuts character) and poll his friend for my survey. He added a few thoughts of his own, and after 3 minutes of chatting to him, his girlfriend zoomed over as if she was on wheels and grabbed his arm. Being a good boyfriend he promptly introduced me to her while she held onto his arm for dear life.

I remember this episode of Sex & The City very clearly because this happens to me quite a lot, even though there's not a lot of evidence for convicting me of felony skanking: no hoop earrings, not a boob tube in sight, not even big hair!

Carrie, Miranda and Samantha went to a "couples party" where they were the only single guests. Anytime you happen to be having a chat with an attached man, his girlfriend/wife will speed over faster than a crystal meth addict to cling onto his arm and remind you that he's not available and not your type anyway. fascinating.

12:34 p.m. - 2004-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

asper-gen
bluenadia6
stayinschool
unapologetic
sirawesome
bingoguy
chickpea981
fadein
mr-sparkles
antistar-
uberfrau
uptowndream
xanthium
coppersky
djjohns3
heckafresh
caraxus
von-esper
getbent-die