mr-onion's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Love is Blind and Deaf and Mute and Dyslexic

I'm nauseous with excitement about returning to the U.K. to visit my old mates in September.....and while wistfully remembering a time in my life when it was OK to smoke in pubs and blow rings of it at nearby children in said pubs, I remembered Fowler's old job at a gay pub in Chelsea. I used to wander over there almost every day after work to visit him and Mickey and Ben while they were bartending. This is one of the most romantic true stories I've ever heard, courtesy of Craig The Bartender:

A deaf man is sitting alone with his pint at a table, quietly wondering what everybody else is talking about, though I'm sure he could've lip-read their conversations if he was really that curious, anyway...

A blind man walks into the pub with a cane and dog, proceeds to the bar and buys himself a pint of cider.

Blind Man: Excuse me, is this seat taken?

Deaf Man: *silence*

Blind Man: I say, is this seat taken?

Deaf Man: What?

Blind Man: Can I sit here please?

Deaf Man: What!?

Blind Man: CAN...I...SIT...WITH...YOU?

Deaf Man: WHAT?

This went on for a long time, while everyone watched in fascination, too embarrassed to say anything. I can't remember if the blind guy ever did get a date with the deaf guy - good luck to them though! Conclusive proof that disabled people CAN be funny.

8:36 a.m. - 2004-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

asper-gen
bluenadia6
stayinschool
unapologetic
sirawesome
bingoguy
chickpea981
fadein
mr-sparkles
antistar-
uberfrau
uptowndream
xanthium
coppersky
djjohns3
heckafresh
caraxus
von-esper
getbent-die