mr-onion's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Very Tasteful Birthday Party *ahem*

Dear Diary:

Today is my birthday and as usual it's a bit of an anti-climax. Though we did all the celebrating on Saturday night, I still haven't gotten that call from Jude Law.

I've been acting all cat-like today, lying prone on the sofa, giving the room mate sneaky looks that imply "I'm not gonna feed myself, so why don't you just put something in a bowl for me". She's wisely decided to go out for a bike ride.

Saturday's birthday drinks were a bit too classy for my liking, but the friends requested something a bit less manic this year that didn't involve all their pet peeves: karaoke, puking, trying to drink pints upside down to see if that really cures hiccups, and my drunken belligerent ranting.

We all ended up at this posh martini bar, playing ever so cutting edge, soft-core hip-hop, minimalist decor to the exclusion of having anything decorative in the place, and ever so smug servers ("I'm a P/T model y'know") lowering themselves to sell us beer for twice the price of the pub next door.

The girls were quite impressed with the bar and the classy people who filled it; until I informed them that by my guess, approximately 80-90% of the men were looking for other men, and probably wouldn't be looking at them except to question their taste in shoes.

After 2 hours of forced civility I pulled a birthday strop and scammed them into following me to the white trash bar down the road; a place with a neon Coors Light sign on the front, a place where I would happily go, even with prior knowledge that I'd probably catch typhus after sitting on one of their bar stools.

I'm hungry and I need a smoke....TBC.

3:35 p.m. - 2004-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

asper-gen
bluenadia6
stayinschool
unapologetic
sirawesome
bingoguy
chickpea981
fadein
mr-sparkles
antistar-
uberfrau
uptowndream
xanthium
coppersky
djjohns3
heckafresh
caraxus
von-esper
getbent-die